English | Deutsch

Editorial

In the past twenty years, the history of the body has become an increasingly visible field of scholarly inquiry and has experienced a remarkable expansion. This online journal is an attempt to represent and contribute to the field’s development in all its various facets. It publishes articles in German or English. All contributions have gone through a double-blind peer review process and appear free of charge in the open access format.

The focus of the journal is the body as a multi-dimensional object of research and as the result of historical transformations: as an effect of social practices, an object of the imagination and of representation, in its discursivity, materiality, and productivity. The body was and is a medium of subjectification as well as the locus of efforts at social hierarchization and, not least, of political conflicts. It is in this comprehensive sense that the title of the journal must be understood: Body Politics.

The history of the body not only changes our view of people, their bodies, and history, it also affects our perceptions of animals and material objects and their purportedly fundamental differentness.

Accordingly, this journal is open to a wide range of research questions and diverse approaches. It presents not only articles from the field of history, but also historical approaches in neighboring fields of literary and media studies as well as cultural and social sciences.  Submit an arcticle …

The editors

English | Deutsch

Editorial

Die Körpergeschichte hat in den vergangenen zwanzig Jahren enorm an wissenschaftlicher Aufmerksamkeit gewonnen und eine bemerkenswerte Ausweitung erfahren. Diese Zeitschrift versucht diese Entwicklung in ihrer Facettenvielfalt abzubilden und weiter voranzutreiben. Als Online-Journal veröffentlicht sie Artikel in deutscher und englischer Sprache, die ein beidseitig anonymisiertes Peer Review durchlaufen haben. Alle Beiträge erscheinen kostenfrei im Open Access.

Der Körper gerät dabei als ein multidimensionaler Forschungsgegenstand und das Ergebnis eines historischen Wandels in den Fokus – als ein Effekt sozialer Praktiken, ein Objekt der Imagination und Repräsentation, in seiner Diskursivität, Materialität und Produktivität. Er war und ist sowohl ein Medium der Subjektivierung als auch ein Ort gesellschaftlicher Ordnungsversuche und nicht zuletzt politischer Konflikte. In diesem umfassenden Verständnis lautet der Titel dieser Zeitschrift: Body Politics.

Die Körpergeschichte verändert dabei nicht nur unseren Blick auf Menschen und deren Körper und Geschichte – sie betrifft auch unsere Wahrnehmung von Tieren und Dingen und deren vermeintlich grundsätzliche Andersartigkeit.

Dementsprechend greift diese Zeitschrift auf ein breites Angebot von Fragestellungen und unterschiedliche Herangehensweisen zurück. Sie versammelt zudem nicht nur Artikel aus der Geschichtswissenschaft, sondern steht ebenfalls historisch interessierten Beiträgen aus den Literatur- und Medienwissenschaften sowie anderen Kultur- bzw. Sozialwissenschaften        offen. Selbst etwas beitragen …

Die Herausgeberinnen und Herausgeber